Your One Word

Stumbled onto this awesome thought/idea by Alece on her BLOG.  If you had to pick one word as your resolve / life word for the next year, what would it be?

I spent a bit of time pondering mine. I believe I have landed on … Deliberate. I want to slow my life down, slow my thinking down, slow my speaking down, slow my brain down and allow my life to percolate more. What have I missed from often failing to be DELIBERATE? What might I do differently if I lived in a more DELIBERATE fashion? Based on the words of Henry David Thoreau, “I wished to live deliberately” James puts it this way, “Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry” (Ja. 1:19).  DELIBERATE.

These questions hopefully will be answered in 2011 as I strive to keep this one word in front of my thoughts and prayers.

So…WHAT’S YOURS?  WHAT is it and WHY did you choose it?

 

~ by leecoate on January 3, 2011.

5 Responses to “Your One Word”

  1. I like that Lee, and I am glad you are blogging again.
    Alece seems to have sparked something with a lot of people. Love that she is doing this.

  2. wow. living life deliberately will change a lot of things. a lot. i’ll be interested to see how this plays out in your life… what it means in your day-to-day living… how it impacts decisions you make…

    deliberate. love your word. it represents so much intentionality and purposefulness. so great. hard, but really really good.

    • Alece –

      Thanks for the inspiration. I actually sat with my team here at The Crossing this morning and spent 45 minutes discussing our individual “words” of the year. We are going to hold each other to a certain level of accountability and lift each other up in prayer as we journey through the year — hope you are encouraged as well!

Leave a Reply

 
